This is the End of Dance Innocence

I was dancing in front of a mirror a few years ago (alone, at home thank the Lord) when I had a stunning realization — I can’t dance anymore.  I qualify the statement with an “anymore” because there was a time, self-deluded or not, during my freshman and sophomore years of college, when I thought I could actually dance.  But I threw down a couple of moves on myself and realized I looked like I was jackhammering a sidewalk.  I saw in myself what I’d seen in countless old men with syncopated hips at millions of weddings over the years, an eager face and an overbite and a body that looked like an unbalanced washing machine.  I think this cartoon is born of my loss of dance innocence. 

Leave a Reply

