Leave the Poor Pop Stars Alone

I used to feel the way about Sean Paul that I now feel about Usher.  If they’d only played his songs five or six times ever on the radio and then burned all of his CD’s, I’d think he was a great artist.  But it’s like there’s a conspiracy and all the radio DJ’s want to expose certain artist’s flaws by playing them over and over again.  No musician can stand up against that.  Case in point?  Bob Marley.  No one can ever convince me that “No Woman No Cry” is a great song because I’ve heard it 53,000,000 times, and I’ve heard every teeny flaw in that song and it’s like death hearing it now.  Sure, on paper it’s a great song.  Deep, soulful, pure poetry.  But every time I hear that mellow intro I want to take off running. 

8 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kalafudra said,

    That’s why I don’t listen to the radio…

  2. 2

    spinachflame said,

    Maybe that’s my problem. Maybe I should stop listening to the radio so much. Guess it’s time to get the CD player fixed in my car that’s been broken for six years.

  3. 3

    illseed said,

    i hate the radio

  4. 4

    spinachflame said,

    Well said. Who’s got time anymore to wait until the songs change? I have no patience for the radio.

  5. 5

    If I can get them to quit playing Usher songs will you promise to get them to stop playing peeing on young girls – R Kelley?

    Do we have a deal or what – I hate that garbage slime.

  6. 6

    spinachflame said,

    Yeah, R. Kelly is one of those musical geniuses I don’t want to touch with a ten foot pole. Kind of like Michael Jackson. Love the guy’s music, but what a serious weirdo.

  7. 7

    AshSweetlady said,

    You want to know the reason behind your so-called conspiracy?
    TEENAGERS or worst yet, pre-teens! They have nothing better to do than sit at home spamming the radio station with the same request that little Madison from across the street had them play the hour before. They stay cooped up in their room on the phone for hours on end once school is over.
    Wanna hear the REALLY bad news? School is out :<
    Time to install satellite radio or burn lots of CDs and get your CD player fixed. I typically burn a new one every other week to get rid of the stale music. 🙂

  8. 8

    spinachflame said,

    I hear you, AshSweetLady. Those teenagers will figure out how to corrupt our sense of good music in this country. 😉 I’m kind of a hypocrite on that score though because one time I called a local radio station repeatedly and disguised my voice each time, asking that a track from my friend’s recently-released CD be played over and over again to get it air time. Oh well.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

