Para-SHOOT!

I feel like I’ve been doing a bit of this lately, storming ahead without paying attention to the little details.  Or the big ones, for that matter.  I’m reading the novel “Love in the Time of Cholera” by Gabriel Garcia Marquez.  Anyone ever read it?  It’s brilliant.  Drop what you’re doing and read it now.  So far the book seems to be about what happens when you stop yourself from charging ahead through life in favor of staying safe.  This is a theme I’ve been working through in my own life, for reasons I won’t get into here.  But I’m thinking that, on balance, our lives are so short that we must go with our feelings on some things or risk regret.  Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Update: I just realized I spelled “tandem” wrong in the comic.  Oops.  Oh well.  

6 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kalafudra said,

    I don’t remember who said it, but it was someone famous and obviously clever: I’d rather regret the things I did do, than the things I didn’t do. That’s what I try to live by.

    Haven’t read “Love in the Time of Cholera”. What I did read was “One Hundred Years of Solitude”. Very good as well.

  2. 2

    spinachflame said,

    That sounds like a quote from Oscar Wilde all the way. Not sure if it’s him, but it sounds like one of his brilliant lines. That’s a good mantra to live by, kalafudra.

    “One Hundred Years of Solitude” is way up at the top of my books-to-read list. I can’t wait to tackle it.

  3. 3

    I go on my feelings in most things, especially when it comes from the gut and from the heart. And, I don’t have but one regret and I’m working through that one.

    My only regret in life is that I didn’t pick up a gun and shoot to kill an abuser of mine. I wouldn’t have done a day I wouldn’t have done anytime. The abuse had been documented however overlooked due to their prominent income, but I could have killed them and got away with it – it would have been justified.

    And, I bet every opportunity they get they’re still abusing children and women.

    Wow…bet you’re sorry that you asked anyone ever felt like that…lol

    I’m having a great sun shiny day, I hope that you are!

  4. 4

    p.s. i luv the caricature in the cartoon – way cool – i like it!

  5. 5

    I’m totally a “regret the things I didn’t do” person, which sucks. I suppose it sucks to be the other extreme as well…I’d like to find a happy medium in my life…but man is it WORK.

    Nice comic today.

  6. 6

    spinachflame said,

    Thanks, 1979semifinalist. I agree, it is a lot of work to find that balance between knowing how to embrace life and knowing when to say “no” to things. I want to travel like crazy bad right now, but I don’t have the cash, and I really don’t want to put a bunch of money on my credit card, so I have to say no even though I’m afraid I’ll regret not traveling when I’m young and healthy! Oh well.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

