Uneasy Chair

I know someday I’ll succumb to the old person thing of getting an easy chair and rocking away my days in sweet rhythmic bliss.  But that’s for another time.  Right now I don’t want to get too comfortable.  To me, there’s a real danger in getting too comfortable too early in life.  Something of the Romantic spirit is lost in the mad scramble for comfort.  Of course, these are the words of someone who had a great, solid childhood and who never had to worry about where their next meal was coming from, so I know I sound all middle class angsty here.  But it’s something to not live your youth for the sole purpose of pleasing your every need.  I think I put myself in a version of the “uneasy chair” often to goose myself into a real identification with the profane world.  I guess if I didn’t I’d be floating off in the ether somewhere, living inside my head. 

I think that if everyone who was lucky like I was to be raised by good solid parents in a safe environment just tried to deny themselves a little more once they got to the age where they could do real damage to the earth if they didn’t, maybe the world would come back into balance and we wouldn’t have these huge gulfs between the rich and poor.

Well, I think I’ve managed to suck every last drop of humor out of this cartoon.  Sorry for being heavy, I’ve just been thinking about it since the world seems so crazy right now.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Ha! Uneasy chair. I love it.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

